My Muse

This week’s Weekly Photo Challenge asked what inspires us and in a way forces us to keep coming back for more. Did I misinterpret it?

For me the sunset or sunrise does just that and here’s why.

I have a thing for the really orange sunsets. When I see one, I can’t help but wonder what those sunsets look like in Negril or Montego Bay, infamous for their ORANGE sunsets. I don’t live on that side of the island, but when we happen to visit, we rarely get the sunset.

I remember once, long ago, when the Mr. and I were just dating, we went to Negril and we were blessed with this infamous sunset. I got an amazing (or what I thought was amazing at the time) shot of his silhouette against the setting sun . . . and it was beautiful. We were at Rick’s Cafe at the time, and after having taken that shot, I accidentally knocked my hand, the same hand holding the camera, against the ledge and watched as my camera went crashing down the cliff side and into the waves below. It was disheartening, and I think I cried at the time.

Anywho, I’ve had a love-hate relationship with sunsets ever since. I love them, love to take pics of them because of what I hope it’ll look like in Negril, but since that disappointing experience, I have yet to encounter that beautiful sunset in that part of the island.

The sunrise gets me when the orange glow pours in from the front windows and casts the living room in brilliance. But that only happens when the sunrise is scheduled any time after 6am. Any time before that is pushing it.

Here are my past sunrise and sunset photos.

Sunrise

Sunsets

Next week hopefully I will have newer shots of the sunrise and sunsets.

3 comments

So tell me . . . what do you think?