To a Prosperous Old Year

At this point the Year is old, right?! It is currently day 356 which means, we have less than two weeks left in the year.

I know it is a tad bit late to catch up on my blogging; I haven’t blogged in so long that I’m not even sure if I’m doing it right anymore. Truth be told, I have many . . . MANY drafts waiting to be published, drafts I started in the dead of night to post and for some reason I just didn’t post them.

Before this, the old year ends, I wanted to share with you my latest obsession . . . My Garden!

When I was younger, and by younger I mean, maybe a year ago, I remember wanting to start a garden with my own fresh grown tomatoes, sweet peppers, basil, oregano, and parsley. I wanted to be self-sufficient in a number of respects but I never seemed to go any further than the first shooting up of a leaf or two and then nothing.

My thumb was only green when I painted my nails green . . . and I don’t have green nail polish, so . . . yah!

p1010910
The Grand Daddy and Baby Mamma that started this obsession

In May of this year, I received a little gift from church . . . a plant (with the purple buds) that was representative of my faith. I was therefore charged with taking care of it, pruning it, and giving it the room and the nourishment it needed to grow, just like my faith. After one very close call, when most of the leaves had turned brown and it seemed on the verge of death, hubby reminded me to help it shed the old leaves. Once I did, the plant not only thrived, it damn-near exploded and is closer to a shrub than a plant.

I think it was witnessing that vibrancy that pushed me toward getting more plants.

I went out the next day and bought a coleus plant with lime green leaves and red veins. A beautiful plant that I thought would be gorgeous indoors. Turns out, coleus’ are more outdoorsy and thrive in the full light of day. With hubby’s knowledge and expertise, I transplanted several smaller coleus plants from the parent plant, and now I have about 5 pots of coleus with their bright greenery and accent red veins and I absolutely love them.

p1010906
The Coleus Brothers
p1010905
Minty

I then bought two palms because I thought they’d be great indoors, but it turns out they love sunlight as well. Following them, I started some Basil, hubby started some mint, and now I’m trying my hand at oregano, which started sprouting up but unfortunately fell to a craven caterpillar. How that caterpillar got to our garden on the second floor patio, I do not know. And though it is a part of life, he upsets me.

Damn craven and badmine!!!

Anyways!

So I started some oregano, and last night I planted some more basil and started some sweet peppers. And by the end of this week, I plan to start some parsley as well.

Am I going hard?

Yes!

Should I slow down?!

I didn’t think so either.

You see, tending to the garden, at one time used to be a tedious, dirty job that I’d have to squeeze into my day. I’d forget to water them, and neglect the fact that they need help shedding their old selves.

Now, I find gardening therapeutic. I didn’t have a great day yesterday, and I completely forgot about all of life’s troubles when I was elbow deep in top soil. It was calming, forces patience, and though you may fail one or two of the plants, the reward of watching them bloom and flourish and spread like wildfire is beyond words.

Another thing I didn’t think would happen . . . I’m now into succulents.

p1010897I always thought cacti were not that interesting. I mean, how can you admire something that will stab you in the finger with its spikes? They looked dangerous, and not worth it a backside.

p1020039
Bad Bwoy Cheva; Do you see the buds on the leaf?! I’m beside myself 😀

But . . . and while I still don’t love the spiky kind, I’ve found quite a number of succulents that fill me with so much joy. Not to mention those I see online, that I have yet to find out here. So maybe that is why I have a slight obsession with succulents right now. I am subconsciously on the hunt for the different rosette kinds of succulents and know I haven’t even skimmed the surface of them yet.

I literally have to plan my routes to avoid the local plant stores because I will be tempted to stop and check if they’ve gotten new succulents.

Here are some of the ones I’ve found; don’t know the names of them, so I named them.

One comment

  1. I’m glad that you have found some kind of therapy in gardening. I too have tried, but they all seem to die because I forget (as you said) to water them or help them shed… I still have a great plan for a vertical garden. 2017 is gonna be the year for it!!! I’m looking forward to sharing mine with you as well.

    Liked by 1 person

So tell me . . . what do you think?

