My heart hurts . . .

My heart hurts . . .

It aches with an emptiness no one and nothing can fill.

It’s an emptiness I feel when I think about how the world operates these days.

Many will say it’s the end of days, and I cannot deny that. We are at that point where we begin tearing each other apart. We are all crabs in a barrel and only the fittest, strongest, meanest mother-fathers will survive.

But my heart hurts . . .

It aches with the knowledge that women are raped and beaten to death, or burnt to death, or stoned to death, whatever it is to death, for walking home on the road at night in certain parts of the world.

It aches with the knowledge that over a hundred girls were kidnapped by the Boko Haram sometime late last year, and are now being used not as child soldiers, but child terrorists, forced into suicide bombing in an attempt to kill only a handful of people.

It aches because we all hear these stories and turn a blind eye to them because they don’t quite hit home for many of us. They occur in places no one cares about. They happen to people no one knows. But they are people of this world. People of a country not too far from home. These things happen to people who could easily have been you or me or our next door neighbour.

My heart hurts . . .

Because we are more fascinated with Chris Brown and his baby mama drama and not the rapist who says the woman called it down on herself.

My heart hurts . . .

Because the Cleveland police can say Tamir Rice, a 12-year-old, called down his inhumane treatment and subsequent death upon himself.

My heart hurts . . .

Because an entire district/town is considered racist based on empirical data presented but they still wont do anything about the killing of an unarmed black teen because . . . he called it down on himself.

My heart hurts . . .

The thought of bringing my child into a world as corrupt and backward and hostile as it is now, frightens the living daylights out of me.

My heart hurts . . .

For those who have lost loved ones to these barbaric acts of violence with no justifiable reason.

My heart hurts. Tremendously!

So tell me . . . what do you think?

