Think outside the box

I’m sure you’ve all heard that phrase before:

Think  outside the Box

I’m not sure who came up with it, or what the initial situation was that required their team to think outside the box. More than likely you’ve heard it at work when faced with a difficult or challenging issue that requires unorthodox solutions, right? That is usually the case.

But today, I want to put a different spin on the saying.

As we get older, or rather, as I get older, I find that I’m being forced to think outside of my box in order to understand some people and certain situations.

By my ‘box’ I mean my usual thought process/avenue. I think the mind is a box; a collection of every single thing that we’ve encountered along the way.

I’m in no way philosophical but see wid me for a minute.

In our lives, we all have certain experiences. My experiences, though they may be similar to yours, affect me differently and vice versa. You and I could be raised without our fathers, in the same situation – both our fathers went to jail (for argument sake). But my ultimate reaction is having children with five different men, while you may seek to find that one smaddy who is nothing like your father.

The point I’m trying to make is this:

We all have stuff we go through, sometimes the same exact situations, oft-times, they are vastly different. But because we are ALL different, with different morals and values, different operating systems, different codes, different outlooks on life, different thought patterns, different ideals, goals and dreams, our responses will ultimately be different. Try to view each person and each situation likewise . . . differently.

Think outside of your mind box and try to see things from the other person’s perspective . . . just like how you would want someone to see things your way. Try to understand why they behave the way they do before you condemn them to the ‘stupidity’ label.

Don’t get me wrong . . . this is an especially difficult thing for me to do especially when it comes to personal situations and people, and random drivers, but for the most part I am trying.

But more and more these days I’m seeing a lack of compassion and understanding from the public generally. Whether it’s on TV, the radio, or even Facebook . . . people have become so callous and unforgiving of the simplest things and I’m like . . . seriously?! Calm down people! Maybe it’s this, maybe it’s that, what if it happened to you? Have you ever thought of it this way?

Think about it:

There are what? 7 billion people walking around on the face of this earth. And to put it more into perspective, you know only a few hundred of them . . . maybe a thousand. Are there any two people who are exactly alike? Nope! There are no two people who are exactly . . . alike, not even twins are exactly alike. So why would you think everyone would think or be exactly like you?!

Can’t we just try to see things from a different point of view?

Can’t we try to THINK OUTSIDE OF OUR BOX for a minute?!

One comment

So tell me . . . what do you think?

