A-Z Challenge for Bookaholics

Over at Valley Girl Gone Country, Jolene did this challenge and as a fellow bookie, I felt I couldn’t pass up this opportunity to talk about the books I’ve read and loved.

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Technically it would be J.K. Rowling with her Harry Potter series, but if I were to look at separate books by the same author, I think it would be Paulo Coelho.

Best Sequel Ever:

I would have to say its a tie between Insurgent by Veronica Roth and The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss.

Currently Reading:

I’m currently reading Smoldering by Tiffany Aleman and The Runner by W.J. Davies.

Drink of choice while reading:

On a chilly night with a great book . . . a nice glass of Bailey’s goes down swimmingly and warms you up good and proppa.

E-Reader or Physical book:

I used to be adamant about the physical book, but I’ve found there were times when I just couldn’t bring that big paperback with me everywhere, but my phone was there. So I am now an avid Kindle reader. Yay E-Reader!

Fictional character you probably would have dated in high school:

I don’t know about dating but . . . I know I would go gong-ho if ever I had the chance of meeting Khal Drogo. Like Latrine from Robin Hood Men in Tights would say: “I’ve got the hots for him” in the British accent with a little tongue wagging and eyes bulging.

Glad you gave this book a chance:

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

17899948

Hidden gem book:

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Important moment in your reading life:

As a child I would say I kinda liked reading. I liked reading a really good book. I loved Goosebumps, and very rarely, one or two Literature books. One that stuck out to me was the Chrysalids. I fell in love with that book, and because it was one of the only Literature books I liked and could say I finished, I studied it like a hawk. Only to realise that they (the examination councils) didn’t care much about what Char read. They put whatever they liked on the exam, and I’ve never been the same since. That was probably when I realised my relationship with Literature was done . . . kaput!

Just finished:

Perfect for You by Kate Perry

Kind of Books you wont read:

I know I can’t read anything in the Political, Social Science or Medical arenas.

Longest book you’ve read:

That’s probably Angels and Demons by Dan Brown though I’m sure one of the Song of Ice and Fire books were longer.

Major book hangover because of:

The Divergent Trilogy left me with a major hangover, yes! It had to do with the world and the characters and how it ended. I still don’t want to talk about it.

divergent_hq

Number of bookcases you own:

I don’t have any bookcases yet, but I have about 3 stacks of books, plus my Kindle list would make it 4 . . . right?!

One book you’ve read multiple times:

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho but I find it’s not because I necessarily love the book but because I keep forgetting that I’ve read it, and so I read it again to refresh my memory which only happens in the last quarter of the book . . . and then I stop :/

Preferred place to read:

In bed right before I go to sleep.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

a-reader-lies-a-thousand-lies-before-he-dies
George R.R. Martin

Reading regret:

This is a tuffy for me. I usually don’t read a book once I feel like I’m being disappointed. The last book I chose not to finish was The Talisman by Stephen King. I wanted a scary bone-chilling book to read and thought any and all Stephen King books were capable, but Talisman was a snooze-fest. I choose not to finish reading it. Maybe when I’m old and have nothing else to do but read, maybe then!

Series you’ve started and need to finish (all books are out in the series):

There are some books that I’ve read with the intention of only reading the first book and so, even though the series is complete and published and everything, I’m just not interested in going further down that rabbit hole. It’s not that the first book wasn’t good, it’s just too much of one thing, you know what I mean? Then there are other books from series that I’ve read and I cannot wait until it’s completed but it’s not and now I have to wait.

Three of your All Time Favourite Books:

Divergent, The Name of the Wind, and the Chrysalids.

Unapologetic Fangirl for:

I am a huuuuuuge Game of Thrones fangirl and I will not apologize for my analogies, comparisons, speech, and paraphernalia. Did I tell you I had a Direwolf pin on my Brooch Bouquet and my hubby had a Hand of the King pin as well?!

Very excited for this release more than the others:

I am impatiently waiting on The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin and the third book in the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. Very impatient 😡

Worst bookish habits:

Eating, breathing, sleeping, walking, exercising, working, all while reading or listening to a book. Oh and making references to things in the book regardless of the fact that no one ever knows what I’m talking about.

X marks the spot. Start at the top left of the shelf and pick the 27th book:

The Fellowship of the Ring, J.R.R. Tolkien . . . couldn’t finish it though :/

Your latest book purchase:

The Runner by W.J. Davies

ZzzzSnatcher Book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Rebecca kept me up some nights, as well as Driven. But the one that sticks out the most to me is Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth. Oh and Perfect for You that I just finished – I gobbled it up like nobody’s business.

Now it’s your turn.

Copy and paste into a new post and answer.

And don’t forget to link back to me so I can learn about your reading preferences as well.

So tell me . . . what do you think?

