Way to waste time

Daily Prompt: Terminal time

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

Well, shit! My phone battery is close to dead though I remember checking it before leaving the house and seeing 99% battery life. In the 45 minutes that it took to get to the airport, it is now at 17% and wont allow me to do any of my regular ‘waiting’ activities like reading on my kindle, playing any one of the off-line games or listening to the radio or my music player.

Dukes!

My laptop is just as bad. The battery life is low and all the nearby outlets are currently occupied. I would tell someone to give me a bligh but I know that won’t end nicely.

And none of the televisions stationed in the food court are working either. This is where I would say ‘Double Dukes’!

I would spend the first five minutes people gazing, wondering where they’re coming from, where they’re going, who they’re visiting, and why. I would investigate everything from their fashion sense, to their stature and the air of confidence or lack thereof, to the number of luggage they have and I would use that to determine how long they planned to stay wherever they’re headed.

After I’ve built my stories around the random strangers strolling through the airport, I would begin tearing my hair out in frustration at the fact that I have some five hours and 55 minutes to go, waiting on my plane to start loading.

I’d peruse the store outlets, maybe I could find a magazine worth buying, or a book worth purchasing. I would find something to eat and take my time eating it. And when I look at my watch I would frown for I have another five hours and 15 minutes to go.

*Frowny face*

I would then find a seat nearest to an information desk, or a customer service station and observe the comings and goings of the travellers and the customer service reps who have to deal with them.

I would empathize with the disgruntled traveller whose plane was delayed another 8 hours, and so they’d be stuck in the airport for one whole day now. I would be tempted to join in on their rant as my plane was delayed for 6 hours, if they delayed it again, a wudda hell an powder house in yah tonight . . . I mean – it would not be a very pleasant wait for me or any body else in the airport this evening.

And when boredom has consumed me, I would recline on my chair, hopefully in some far corner of the departure lounge, rest my head on the back of the seat, and hope to God I can get a little shut-eye. But knowing me, the constant shuffling of feet across the lounge, the buzzing of the intercom announcing the opened gates and delays, and the chatter from the other travellers would undoubtedly keep me awake.

This journey would not be a good one. I now have four hours and 30 minutes to go and nothing to do.

So tell me . . . what do you think?

