The Battle may be lost but the War is far from over

I recently lost a battle of sorts.

The battle lost stemmed from my disinterest in a book by an author I fully intended on liking. Has that ever happened to you? You find an author you think is awesome, and you try to read one of their books to find out it’s just not your cup of tea?!

For the month of April – yep that far back – I decided to read a ‘book that scares me‘. The book chosen was the Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub, King being the author I wanted to like so much, I wanted to emulate him in not only my writing, and the writing process, but I also wanted to be as determined and successful as he is, maybe even more so. And to some extent I still do want to be on his level someday, but I find it extremely discouraging that I could not, for the life of me, in two months, finish his book.

Not that it was scary, I highly doubt I’ve even gotten to that part yet. The book droned on and on and on about this boy and his mother and how he needed to save her and it’s all well and good and I get it, but honestly? It felt like nothing was happening . . . ever . . . nothing would happen. I would read and read and feel disappointed because by the time I’m ready to turn in, nothing would happen in the book. I doubt I’m explaining my dilemma accurately.

The least I could say is . . . the damn book is just boring, not scary or suspenseful or intriguing or anything, just downright boring. And after the first month I decided that it was a waste of time to trudge on through the book knowing that I’ll never be satisfied, my thirst may never be quenched, and I’ll be hurt because I would have spent so long reading a book and get nothing out of it.

So yeah, I lost this battle . . . I threw in the towel, wove my white flag, and limped off the field.

Battle lost . . . but this war aint over. No . . . I’m onto the next one.

This month I decided to read ‘a forgotten classic’. I was a bit trepidacious about this challenge as . . . to be completely honest, the classics tend to bore me. I’ve read quite a few classics however. I vaguely remember The Count of Monte Cristo, and To Kill a Mocking Bird as those were high school reads. The typical classics such as Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Jane Eyre and the like however, would quite literally put the fear of God in me.

Lol, maybe I should have read one of those for my ‘book that scares me’ challenge. That could have made it much easier for me.

17899948I chose to read Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier as suggested by a friend. It’s a story of a girl who started out as a ‘companion’ to a socialite, and gets married to a well-to-do widower but ends up living in the dead wife’s shoes.

So far, it’s not bad at all. It’s actually entertaining which is surprising to me. And the language used . . . if you really know me, you’ll know I can’t help but mimic the language of which ever book seems to grab me at the moment, and so far I’ve begun phrasing my thoughts in that same fashion. It is remarkable how the language of a book, the way things are said, gets translated in our own writing. Am I the only one? When it was the Song of Ice and Fire series, I would speak as they spoke in the books – I really can’t help it, honestly.

Back to Rebecca, already it’s a much better read than the Talisman, although it didn’t really pick up until I met the socialite mentioned before. And that in itself is a bit of an issue for me. The protagonist, though I don’t know much about her, is a rather flat character. She’s young and she doubts herself more than I can bear. I keep thinking I was not that silly at 21, was I? Some of the things she mentions as troubling, don’t seem that troubling to me, I guess it has a lot to do with perspective. But I can tell you, if the book solely contained the ramblings of this protagonist, I would have lost this battle as well.

But, I like the book already, better than some, and I am surprised by that admission myself. It’s different, very different from what I’d normally go for and I am beside myself at the fact that I am entertained by it.

What was your favourite classical novel? Which book are you reading this month?

3 comments

  1. I am so glad you are reading Rebecca! Hang in there with this one, because once she gets married it starts getting suspenseful. Also, I still recommend Pet Cemetery by Stephen King when you’re ready to return to him. I think it has more action. King does this thing where things start slow and normal for a while… like a while… until you suddenly realize the thoughts you are casually thinking as you are reading the narration are insane. The thoughts of the insane. Something will randomly strike you and you will think, ‘that’s odd. Why did I think that like it was normal?’ That is part of King’s genius… The psycho influenece. But I’m convinced he has ghost writers because some of his stuff is not up to par. This interview on Salon with Stephen King is insightful regarding his writing methods and thinking. The last few questions, especially. http://www.salon.com/1998/09/24/cov_si_24int/

    Like

    • Thanks Reagan, that makes a lot of sense regarding King – starting out slow and normal for a while. It’s kind of off-putting to me, but I will hang onto the Talisman and get Pet Semetary when I’m ready to return to him.

      As for Rebecca, I’m finding that I like it more and more each day although the protagonist tends to be too reserved – and for someone who’s reserved myself, I half expect to read thoughts we really don’t want to mention out loud, you know what I mean? I guess I expect more umph and not her timid ramblings. Like I want her to just grow up already . . . I’m sorry :/

      Thanks again for the suggestion, I’m glad I listened 🙂

      Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

