A little high, little low

Is this the real life?

Is this just fantasy?

Caught in a landslide, no escape from reality.

Open your eyes, look up to the skies and see.

I’m just a poor boy, I need no sympathy

Because I’m easy come, easy go, little high, little low.

Anyway the wind blows, nothing really matters to me . . .

Well, that’s a partial lie. Headphones matter to me. A whole lot more than I would have given them credit for. I recently bought a new pair of headphones because my last had one ear go bad, and nothing’s worse than having music only playing in one ear while jogging, walking, or whatever.

But then it just occurred to me that what is worse than having only one ear-bud working, is having poor sound quality with the head phones. I plugged in my new set and decided to listen to Bohemian Rhapsody on YouTube to get into the frame of mind for today’s writing prompt, and I couldn’t hear half of the song. I know the words by heart, so that didn’t stop me from singing to my heart’s content, but it would have been nice to have Queen singing along with me. I turned up the volumes and everything, and still nothing. So it has to be the headphones right? I’m annoyed.

Back to the topic at hand . . . and I spent more on these headphones than on the last pair that lasted longer than usual *not a happy camper* . . . the first time I heard Bohemian Rhapsody, I was on a youth choir and we were having a little get-together at a friend’s house and she played the entire Queen album. I fell in love with this song instantaneously. I immediately thought of all the parts of the song and the harmonies, the crescendo and decrescendo (a so it go?), the progression and climax, and I even go so far as to imagine a scene from a play that revolves around the song.

A little boy in the dark telling his mama about the man he had to kill today because he did some atrocious thing to him. How wretched he felt after it, and the inner turmoil he goes through knowing he should be punished and cast into the pits of hell for it, knowing he’s thrown his life away in that one act. But he’s just a little boy, a poor little boy from a poor family, nothing should really matter to him. Of course the community gets wind of his killing and wants to stone him to death, but they fight for him, to save his life, to give him a second chance. Nothing really matters but that second chance.

I also remember an ad on television sometime last year where a guy approaches a girl at the bar and asks for her number not knowing her man was right behind her, and they used the song as their words, and I lit up like a lighthouse signalling home that long-lost ship that I hadn’t heard from in a long time. I loved that they used that song, let me restate that . . . I LOVED that they used that song.

Today, I cannot think of any song that warms my heart-strings like Bohemian Rhapsody. I love music, love singing along to most songs, and I love plenty of Queen’s songs. I love Somebody to love, You’re my Best Friend, Fat Bottom Girls, Bicycle Race, oooh Don’t Stop Me Now cause I’m having a good time, I don’t want to stop at all . . . but I have to eventually.

What is your favouritest song in the history of your favourite songs?

 

So tell me . . . what do you think?

