Guest Post: Passion by Danielle Drummond

I have this friend . . . well, you all know her – her name is Danielle and you would remember she did my first interview, Beauty by Danielle. She’s interested in blogging though she hasn’t fully jumped in with both feet. So to test the waters she’s offered to do a post on Passion. What is Passion? How do you know you have it (like it’s a disease), and what it enables you to do?

So without further ado . . .

PASSION

Yesterday while telling someone about my future academic plans in education, I was asked, “Is it your passion?” I actually paused before I answered thinking “Am I really passionate about it?” I went on to describe past experiences that had certainly piqued my interest in that sector, but at the end of the conversation I kept thinking “What exactly am I passionate about?”

I realized that in order for me to identify what I was passionate about, I would first have to understand what passion meant. Passion is of Latin origin from ‘pati’ which means to suffer and was primarily used in Christian theology; the Passion of the Christ refers to the suffering and death of Jesus Christ.

Passion is also described as a strong and barely controllable emotion, or an intense sexual love (the intensity of which is what I think leads to crimes of passion). By now I was thinking clearly my acquaintance was not referring to this kind of passion.

Another definition for passion is an intense desire or enthusiasm for something. Synonyms include fervor, intensity, zeal, zest, gusto, commitment, fanaticism, obsession and preoccupation. After such an exhaustive list, I thought to myself that this must have been the kind of passion I was being asked about.

Often times we go through life with many interests, which for some develop into passions. The fortunate ones among us know for certain (I have a friend who knew from as early as 6 that she wanted to be a nurse, and that’s exactly what she’s doing now), that they want to be scientists, lawyers, engineers or even doctors. I was not among this group as I was more preoccupied with being adventurous and creative.

On the other hand, I’ve always had the insider’s view on education, at least from the teacher’s perspective; my mom was a Math teacher and she would often ‘test’ her papers on us. I looked forward to helping her mark papers as well so it came as no surprise to anyone that I was accepted as part of a programme as an English Language Assistant in Martinique. Neither were they surprised to learn that I volunteered as a teacher at my company’s homework centre. The only person who was in awe was me, why didn’t I embrace this sooner?! The writing was clearly on the wall.

So here I am, years later embarking on a quest to make me qualified in curriculum and instruction, a journey that I am anxious to begin.

For me passion begins with truly knowing what you want to do and spending the time and money to develop the requisite skills and attitudes. It certainly doesn’t hurt to be up to date on all the latest trends or developing professional relationships with other industry leaders. Passion allows you to think outside the box, assess yourself, engage in activities that promote personal development, and oftentimes allow you to encourage others to pursue their passions.

At the end of the day “if you can’t figure out your purpose, figure out your passion. For your passion will lead you right into your purpose.” – Bishop T.D. Jakes

Passion

So tell me . . . what do you think?

