Happy First Blogiversary!

Guess what day it is!

Guess. What. Day. It . IS!!!

It’s my blog’s first anniversary Y’all!

first blog anniversary

Woohoooo! πŸ˜€ *happy dance*

It’s only been a year, can you believe it?

I cannot believe it’s only been a year since I started Lesie’s World.

It’s surreal to me, as a likkle island girl, to have a blog, with over 700 followers, and close to 4,000 views. Whew, this is . . . kinda scary.

Why is it scary, you ask? Well, because I’m usually the wallflower, the introvert, the girl hidden in the closet. I don’t like crowds and loads of attention, and it was a bit daunting to hear people around my office talk about my blog. But, this has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Starting this blog was my first step in becoming a ‘writer’. I wanted to make my writing public, I wanted an excuse to write, I needed the experience and exposure that this blog afforded me. I’ve amassed a repertoire of short stories as a part of the 30 Day Creative Writing Challenge that I initially started with. I’ve done a couple . . . OK, a LOT of personal pieces, which happen to come easier to me than creative writing. And I’ve begun trying my hand at expose’ writing as I’ve inveigled some of my colleagues into doing interviews with me.

*Claps hands together* Oh the possibilities!

I can become an author, I can contribute to other blogs, and maybe even magazines, and newspapers. The possibilities along this road are endless, and I love it!

And as I think toward the future and the possibilities that await me, I cannot forget where I’ve come from, and who’s read, liked, commented, supported, shared, and constructively criticized my work . . . the BIGGEST THANK YOU in the World of Thank You’s! You are ALL very much appreciated. I literally would not have gotten this far, honestly. If not one person liked a post, I would have given up :/ so thank you so much!

I feel seasoned, even though I’m pretty young at this. But I just wanted to share some of the blogs that have inspired me over the past year, and other writings that have helped me, and still continue to help me, find my voice.

Valley Girl Gone Country –Β This here is Jolene, a fellow blogger turned one this month as well. What do I like about her blog? Her brutal honesty, and insight into several situations that are often relatable.

Ron Scubadiver’s Wild Life – Ron is a photographer *extraordinaire*. I aspire to talk photos half as good as he does. He makes it look effortless. I love his photos, very inspiring.

The same for RetireeDiary. His photos are amazeballs, and full of wonder. Again, striving to take photos half as good as these two.

Then there’s the Knot blog for the soon-to-be brides like myself who need inspiration, ingenuity, and different takes on the things we’d want in our wedding. I’ve learnt a lot from this blog.

And finally, I go to A Drip of Truth for suggestions regarding books worth reading, and to draw inspiration from their interviews with authors.

The last thing I want to leave you with, even though I’m sure you don’t need it, I stumbled across this post on “Finding your Writing style“. So maybe this post is more for me than anyone else, but I’m sure someone could use it too πŸ˜‰

Thanks again y’all for reading my blog. I hope to support you as much as you’ve supported me.

Blessings!

 

 

8 comments

  1. WTG!! Char!!! FELICITATIONES!!! Your pieces have inspired me to tap into my writing skills too, especially since I’ve been used as editor by friends and family alike….although I’m a slow and steady, shy and scared kinda girl.

    Like

    • If it’s been on your mind, go for it. You have my support hun, and if you have any questions let me know, Listen me talk like I’m dis big blogger and sh*t. Lol! But I’m here for you hun πŸ˜‰

      Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

