Photo Challenge Days 1 – 5

I started a 30 Day Photo Challenge on Monday and thought I should share with you my photos from Day 1 – 5.

Day 1: Self Portrait

According to the challenge, Day 1 was to take a self-portrait. This photo was one I took a couple of weeks ago when a friend tested some make-up on me. I was a maggle (model) for a day, so why wouldn’t I take a self-portrait then? I may not have followed the challenges guidelines to the ‘T’ but I felt the lighting was good, the background acceptable, and the clarity great! What do you think? And what about the make-up? Possible Wedding day make-up?!

20140208_103925_1

Day 2: The Rule of Thirds

For the Rule of thirds, the photographer explains that photos should have 9 equal parts: 2 horizontal lines equally spaced and 2 vertical lines, likewise. When using the Rule of Thirds it is then easier to line up the important aspects of the photo either with the intersecting lines or in the spaces between. It makes for a more interesting shot when everything has a place and focus. I tried this in the photos below.

20140224_170633_2
The sunset was lined up with the intersecting lines on the left
20140224_165454_2
In this one, the sunset was lined up in the space between the two vertical lines

Although you can’t see the guidelines in the photos, I used the rule of thirds to show the difference between lining up the sunset within the spaces and with the intersecting lines. Again, what do you think? Of course I had to add a little filtering an ting, but I think they turned out pretty awesome, don’t you think?

Day 3: Black and White

For the Black and White challenge, the photographer suggests shooting the photo in colour first, then making adjustments to the contrast, saturation, highlights, etc, to bring up the photo more than usual. Then you convert to black and white. That way the contrast in the black and white photo stands out more than if you had taken a photo in black and white in the first place.

Here are my photos, the first photo was taken in colour and the one below is the black and white version. I’m not sure that I conveyed this particular challenge well, so I may try again this weekend, but this is what I got so far.

20140224_170650

20140224_170650_1

PS: That building is the Old Navel Hospital found in Port Royal. I took the shot on my way back from Lyme Cay, a little island off the coast of Port Royal, and a great mid-week escape.

Day 4: Texture

With Texture, there are a couple things to consider. Lighting is a great factor in any photo, however for photos with texture apparently the midday sunlight is the best kind of lighting as the harshness of the light brings out the depth of the texture better. I did not follow this rule :/.

Another aspect is quantity of the texture, whether you fill the entire photo with the surface area or you use it as part of the frame. The more texture you show in the photo is the more your viewers feel the texture, even though they can’t physically feel it. Post processing is also important as you may have to play around with the photo to bring out the texture of the photo.

Here is my version of texture. I took this at the one place I happen to take all my photos 😦 the Emancipation Park where I go jogging in the evenings. It had just rained and so the track’s texture was more pronounced than usual. The colour in the specks of whatever material they used to make the surface stood out more than I’ve ever noticed before, so I had to snap a shot.

20140306_175615_2

Day 5: High Angle

At first I thought I completely forgot this challenge all together. But after having read the guidelines of the challenge, I realised that some of my previous photos could work. For High Angle, as the name suggests, you take a photo from a higher angle than you would normally.

There is, to me, some confusion of the use of the horizon in these high angle photos. The photographer suggests that using the horizon as a guideline in such photos, means you are not as high as you could be, whereas in my opinion if you can see the horizon, you are pretty high up – but that’s just my humble opinion. He suggests lining the horizon as close to the top of the frame to give a greater sense of height.

The other thing about high angles is the fact that the photo has to point downwards, for obvious reasons. And that very simple fact made me feel like I did accomplish this challenge after all.

20140302_142906

20140302_140130

Here I was snapping some picks of our little balcony garden we started this month. We have peppermint, basil, and parsley planted, as well as coleas. But as we live on the second floor of our apartment, the photos showed the house next to ours from the high angle. And as I was snapping away my pup felt neglected and wanted some photo action, but she’s camera-shy so see wid har!

20140302_142911

So tell me . . . what do you think?

