Book Review Recap

Good Morning All,

This morning I wanted to do a minor recap of my ‘Read a new book each month’ goal. This would have normally been posted yesterday but unfortunately I wasn’t in a position to post anything until late in the night and that didn’t make much sense to me . . . no one would see it. So today you’ll get not one but TWO post for me, yippee!

20140106_133041

For January I read Seeds of Earth by Michael Cobley, and it took me a month and a half to complete it. It was depressingly hard to read, not necessarily slow, just hard. My other half is reading it now and has to fight the urge to give it up, I have to remind him to continue reading. That’s just sad, in my opinion. And on top of it, I found some other low ratings for it on Amazon and saw where Cobley responded to some of the one star reviews in essence stating that he doesn’t understand our low ratings of the book. Either he didn’t allow anyone to read it and criticize it first, or everybody on his team lied to him. Either way, it is what it is, right?!

divergent_hq

Following that contretemps (new word), I read the Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth in less than two weeks. This goes to show how enjoyable a good book is compared to a truly difficult read. The Divergent Trilogy was a great relief and an ease to read. Maybe it was the Young Adult aspect of it, but I think it was a great series, and am tempted to re-read them again just to see if I missed anything.

This month, I’m reading Theft of Swords, Riyria Revelations by Michael J. Sullivan. This was a book recommended by my other half, and so far, it hasn’t been bad. By next Thursday I should have a proper review for you, but he loved it and gobbled it up like I did the Divergent trilogy, so I am hopeful.

What are you reading this month? How are you finding it?

 

So tell me . . . what do you think?

