DIY Invitations

Usually I would have posted this kind of thing on Wednesday but Wednesday was a trip and a half!

My MOH’s born day was on Wednesday and her loving husband had inveigled me (not really, I was more than willing) to help out with the surprise party he planned for her in the evening. So I was on the road more than at my desk and didn’t get home at a reasonable enough time to even submit a late post.

So today, I wanted to share with you the process of our DIY Invitations. dun Dun DUNNNN!!! (lol)

I am especially proud of our invitations even though they haven’t been sent off yet. I know, I know . . . I’m cutting it really close as we’re in the less than 8 week window and invitations should be sent out between 6 – 8 weeks before the wedding.

I am proud because this has been the first real completed DIY project for the wedding so far. Yeah I showed you the DIY Brooch Bouquets, and the DIY Wine Glass Lanterns, but I haven’t finished those as yet. The invites however are completed and I am happy to show you the finished product.

The invites were designed by my MOH’s husband who designed the invitations for their wedding years ago. I have to say he did an excellent job, not just with their invite, but with ours as well, and I am beyond grateful for his help, patience, expertise, and creativity.

Thank you BIG TIME Richie! (if unnu need a link, shout me 😉 )

My initial idea for the invites were to make them into a scroll like these.

collage-invite temp

I can’t remember where I first saw these scroll-like invites but I fell in love. The fiancé and I have an affinity for Game of Thrones, Harry Potter and other medieval/fantasy/epic themes and I thought it would be brilliant to have that element in our wedding in one way or another.

So with this scroll idea in mind, Richie and I got to talking and he designed the invites accordingly. Below you can see the evolution of the invites.

collage-invite

He designed the first (far left) as a scroll and even threw in the Lord and Lady titles, which was great, but after actually seeing it, I realized that this scroll-like element of the invite may not work out as I had planned. The invite then evolved to the second version and then the third version shown above where the invite is now twice the width of the first two invites.

Following that, Richie tweaked and tweaked and tweaked some more until we got . . .

Char and Patrick (8)

After he finalized the design as is shown above, we came to the real do-it-yourself aspect of it. My MOH got the invites printed and cut, but she and I (along with the help of her mom) had to put them together. Poor me, I thought we would have to cut them ourselves . . . thank God not!

All we really did was use paper glue to adhere the invite sheet (printed on a metallic translucent sheet) to a gold card-stock cut-out.

Then, in keeping with the scroll idea – even though they wont be rolled up like a scroll, I got little skeleton keys and ribbon of varying colours with which we tied the invites, and voila!

Invitations done!

collage-invitation

We even found really nice metallic orange envelopes that fit the invitation suite perfectly.

What do you think?

*Metallic Translucent Paper, Gold Cardstock, and Metallic Orange Envelopes provided by the Paper Place.

*Skeleton Keys found here.

4 comments

So tell me . . . what do you think?

