the irony of life . . .

A friend posted on Facebook not too long ago:

“I would rather fail at what I love than succeed at what I hate.”

Now I know he wasn’t sending that message to me personally, but I couldn’t help but wonder as it just so happens that I was thinking about all the things I’ve achieved in this life and how none of it is something I actually love doing.

As a matter of fact, I literally fail at almost everything I set my heart to, and succeed at everything else.

So, I went through all my mini life projects from childhood to adulthood and all I can do it shake my head at the pattern that emerged.

As a child, I attempted to make bookmarks and sell them. I can only remember making one bookmark and I cannot for the life of me remember who I gave it to.

I did and loved Spanish in high school, but gave it up in tenth grade simply because I was exhausted with the Spanish teacher.

I also attempted Art in grade ten, and to this day am disappointed that I flung myself off that horse without remorse. And I have no idea why. I still have some of my drawings and it amazes me that I could actually draw like that. I remember doing a drawing of a wolf in a canyon howling at the moon, that I just never finished. This, I think is my greatest disappointment. (If I can find that drawing, I’ll try to finish it, just because).

I was apart of a Drama club, my church’s Youth Choir, and I taught myself how to play the guitar, and as a teen, I played regularly on Friday nights too. But I gave up on those as well.

Additionally I used to make clutches. Or rather, I made myself a very neat denim clutch that to this day I still get compliments on, but I never went any further with it.

Why am I sharing with you these failures in my life?

Because these are all the things I loved doing and actually wanted to do, but for some reason, be it laziness, fear, or procrastination, I’ve failed them all.

But ask me about my job, that I’m good at that. Do I love it?! Not so much but I do it because I’m good at it.

Does that make me successful?!

I really, highly, and unequivocally doubt it. Because at the end of the day, I wont write home about the things I did that I didn’t enjoy, nor am I going to write about my lovely failures (even though I’m writing about my failures right now).

No! I want to write about the things I’m doing and have done and will do that all excite me, that ignites that fire within me, that gets my blood pumping and my brain twerking (yes, my brain does the twerking for me (DWL!)), those things that gets my creativity flowing, things I’m passionate about, and about the fact that I accomplished them.

So I say:

“I would rather succeed at the things I love doing and am interested in, and settle for doing aight with the other stuff!”

That, I can live with.

Get me?!

So tell me . . . what do you think?

