All good things come to those who wait

I blundered yesterday.

I didn’t do anything embarrassing, if you must know (which you probably didn’t want to know anyway). I just didn’t do anything . . . and that’s the problem.

I was out sick yesterday and while I was at home, I didn’t read, write, or do anything constructive. I know, I know . . . I should be ashamed of myself.

But why am I being so hard on myself? you may ask (which I know you didn’t but I’m going to answer anyway).

Lately, or rather, for the past couple of years, the word on the streets is: do what successful people do in order to one day be successful.

I’ve read books upon books, listened to audio tapes, done exercises, talk to whomever I thought was closer to that mark than I, but I still remain unsuccessful in many regards.

Now this is not a beat-up Char post, this is just me explaining a revelation I had yesterday evening.

So the latest book I’ve been listening to is the Slight Edge – Turning Simple Disciplines into Massive Success by Jeff Olson. A friend sent me the book and although I’ve read Rich Dad Poor Dad and Think and Grow Rich, and several other similar books, I decided to give it a try. Sometimes, one author may explain the similar principles in a way that you now understand when before you simply glazed over it.

So I’m there listening to the book and they get to a point where they list the principles of the Slight Edge. The first of which is to Show Up. The second was to Be Consistent, and the third was to Maintain a Positive Outlook on Life.

At that point, I pretty much stopped listening to the book all together. Not because it was chatting foolishness but because I realise I have failed on the first three accounts and I had another four to go through. I failed to show up yesterday when I wasn’t feeling well, and I’m not talking at work. I mean, I just disappeared yesterday, all together. I was non-existent for a day. I wasn’t consistent in keeping my daily goals which for me was to post daily – I failed that one. And I fail daily in maintaining a positive outlook on life. And this is the biggest red-flag to me.

A couple of years ago, I did a Gratitude Challenge with Shanel Cooper-Sykes and I can say this was one of those things that actually worked for me. I went from a state of constantly complaining to being grateful for whatever situation, that it is what it is and not worst, and that I am healthy, safe, secure, and well taken care of, with no needs to be filled. I really am Good! But despite seeing and knowing all this, I had/have a very sour attitude lately which has turned into a very sour week for me.

I’m not happy about that, and realise that I need to be constantly aware of my mindset and redirect it when I find it going off course. I need to be consistent in completing my daily goals and actions, and I need to be present and show up, even when I don’t feel like it.

What dawned on me yesterday was the process of forming positive habits. They say a habit takes 21 days to form right?! And to maintain that 21 days of forming a habit, it means I have to do it on those off-days, when it rains, when it hot nuh rhatid, when I’m overwhelmed with work and calls and emails, when I’m sick, when on the beach in the country, I MUST DO IT to form the habit.

And in addition to all this, I must be patient with the process and with myself . . . Rome wasn’t built in a day, right?! And a tree doesn’t grow overnight. Whatever seed I plant today will spring forth eventually, but not right away.

All good things come to those who wait.

 

PS: Does this count as a book review?!

sigh . . . I didn’t think so! :/

2 comments

So tell me . . . what do you think?

