Seeds of Earth: Book Review Week 4

This is the final review for this book y’all. No need to worry . . . yet! I have not yet finished the book – yeah I know I’m a slow reader, can’t deny it, as the book is rather difficult to read.

There have been some really interesting things happening lately, I’m not gonna lie. With the shooting, and the kidnapping, and the glimpse into the underlying cultures of the sentients, it’s all very interesting and somewhat intriguing. When anyone asks me how is the book now, I say it’s fairly good, it just had a very rough start, like the author didn’t exactly know how to introduce you to this new world quite well. Which made me wonder if my stories were as difficult to get into, as I write with Jamaican influences that are not familiar to everyone.

I also think the authors description of places and the people/sentients was found wanting. I doubt the author thinks he has a problem there but it is clear to me there is a disconnect with his descriptions and my imagination. You know when you’re reading a book, you slowly put the pieces of the picture together one by one. One misplaced word throws the picture off all together. That’s happened one too many times to count in this book.

Since reading this book, I now wonder if I use too many jargons that no one understands. And I’ve come to the realization that reading your own writing does not give you the same experience of another reader (hence the need for Editors and Proofreaders, right?!).

As I read the book – and will continue to read even though come February 1, I should start reading my second book as I do not wish to delay or postpone this one simple goal this year – I’ve come across so many unfamiliar words that I began to wonder if they were real or fictional or if I needed to have been an astronaut travelling deep space nine to understand. I decided to make note of these words and share with you my findings aka their meanings, as the last hooray for this book.

In my best Sesame Street voice-over voice: “Today’s Final ‘Seeds of Earth’ Book Review is brought to you by the words:

Dirigible – an airship; designed for or capable of being directed, controlled or steered.

Inviolable – prohibiting violation; secure from destruction, violence, infringement or desecration; incapable of being violated.

Brevets – a commission promoting a military officer to a higher rank without increase in pay.

Seditionists – of or pertaining to sedition which is incitement of discontent or rebellion against a government.

Dissident – a person who dissents which is to differ in sentiment or opinion, especially from the majority.

Ogival – the adjective of ogive which is a diagonal rib or groin of a Gothic vault; the conical head of a missile or rocket that protects the payload during its passage through the atmosphere.

Emissary – a representative sent on an errand or mission; an agent sent on a mission of a secret nature, as in spy.

Stentorian – very loud or powerful in sound.

Carping – characterized by fussy and petulant fault-finding; querulous.

Lacuna – a gap or missing part, as in a manuscript, series, or logical argument; hiatus.

Hubris – excessive pride or self-confidence; arrogance.

Abeyance – temporary inactivity, cessation, or suspension.

Motility – moving or capable of moving spontaneously.

Effacing – to wipe out; do away with; expunge.

Lugosivator – made up word (finally!)

Definitions were taken from dictionary.reference.com

So while the dirigible carried us rockily into this new world, I knew it was inviolable. I wonder if they knew they breveted a seditionist for dissidence against the ogival the emissary carried, and that the stentorian carping left a lacuna in our hubris that rendered us into abeyance even when motility is paramount where effacing is eminent, so now I must take this up with the Lugosivator.

So what do you think? . . . how did I do?

So tell me . . . what do you think?

