A nuh play play business dis!

Hold on deh likkle bit . . . none a unnuh couldn’t tell me seh dis wedding planning business a nuh play play business?!

Not that I thought it was easy-peasy, I just didn’t realise dat is a whole heap a tings mi haffi consida. Lawd Gad! Mi head a hot me!

Last Friday night I dreamt, or had a nightmare rather, that the next day was the wedding and nothing was done. I mean . . . NOTHING, was ready! Can you imagine that?! There was no food, no chairs for the ceremony, no set-up for the reception, hell I don’t even think the venue was ready. The dress wasn’t even dry-cleaned.

I cried at my nightmarish wedding.

And I still kinda have that sinking feeling in the back of my head. What if nothing is really ready?!

I have 3 months to go. Some may say “You have time man, stop worrying” to which I would reply “NO! I do NOT have time. 3 months is right around the corner! Before you look up, there it is . . . April 19!” I am a bit panicky, I will admit. And I wish I could say I have everything covered. But I don’t.

I think I told you already that I’m a DIY bride, right?!

I am from a DIY family, and a third generation crafter. My Grandmother, as young as she is, makes glass art, she sews, and crochets, among other things. My Mom, is an avid DIYer as well, so it was only fitting that we try to find things that we can make ourselves for the wedding.

Here are a couple of the things I think we can attempt:

2013-10-26 22.54.40

The first of which was the Save-the-Dates. I used the example above to generate our version below which everybody seemed to love, so I’m happy:

Save the Date 6
Photo by Kidbazzle (my brother)

The next thing on my to-do/make list:

Vicki-Mike-Wedding-Flower-Centerpiece-Jennifer-Dery-DCNearlyweds-707585
Vicki and Mike’s Wedding Centerpiece (borrowed)

I’m not a big fan of the big over-the-top floral arrangements and centerpieces for weddings. I love the look and feel of candles strewn all over the place. Candles in brown paper bags, candles in water, candles in glasses, candles by themselves, you name it, I love it.

The next big thing, and by far the most exciting thing for me to try is this brooch bouquet:

il_340x270.492875514_q3wx

2013-12-24 11.07.58

Again, not a big fan of flowers. So when I saw this and the various versions online I fell in love immediately.

How can anyone not love a bouquet this beautiful?!

So I went online and found a neat little site that’s stocked to the nines with all sorts of brooches and I just had to have them.

This is just a sample of the brooches I have to date, and I am so excited to try my hand at making this beautiful bouquet.

I’m also gonna try my hand at the wedding program/fan below which would only be fitting for an outdoor wedding in the city of Kingston. Dem gwen neeeeed a fan mi dear.

Paso-Robles-Vineyard-Wedding-Fan-Program

I know these are not an extensive list of things to have done before the wedding, but I just wanted to share some of the things that have inspired me during this process.

The last thing I wanted to show you is the DIY Photo Canvases I did for both the Mr. and myself.

2014-01-02 15.50.35

The photos were taken by my brother for our Engagement Photo session. I printed them on regular letter-sized paper, cut them to size, then glued them to the canvas.

I first coated the plain canvas with Ponal (Jamaica’s version of Mod Podge), then I laid the photos on top and added a second layer of Ponal. I then left them to dry for 24 hours and voila! What do you think?

I keep one on my desk at work.

I also did two similar photo canvases of my God-daughter for her parents, and they love them.

You can find a similar tutorial here.

2 comments

So tell me . . . what do you think?

