Sunday night musings

As I look back on the week that was, I am caught somewhere between that feeling of accomplishment and some level of frustration. I know I am getting somewhere, but I still have far to go. And on top of it all, my innate desire to just not do anything comes gnawing at the back of my head ever so often, and sometimes it’s hard to fight it.

This week was my first week back at work since the start of the year. Yay me right?! I guess you could say so. I haven’t fully gotten back into the swing of things but hopefully I will this upcoming week.

I’ve also officially started training for those ‘pesky’ 5k runs coming up. I’m up to running 3.5k at the Emancipation Park – which is my main running location, and that distance was recorded on Friday last. I’m not timing myself yet because I just want to be able to run 5k straight without walking or breaking or anything. Once I can do that, then I’ll start timing myself. Like I’ve said in a previous post, there are quite a number of runs or races coming up. There have been several since the start of the year already and I have been missing out. There is a Colour Run coming up on the 25th of January that I am really trying to gear up for. And then there is the infamous Sagicor Sigma Run  coming up in February, for which I ran a time of 31:05 minutes last year. So I’m hoping to beat that time this year. Wish me luck!

I started a new book this month as part of my “Read a new book every month” goal, and I have to admit (which, if you’ve been a follower, you already know this), this book has to be one of the most difficult books I’ve had to read. Some have said that my difficulty could be a result of my not reading consistently for a while now, which could be the very case. However, I am someone who can’t put a book down once it’s gotten me. This book, has not gotten me. As a matter of fact, I feel like Pepe Le Pew slowly hunting down the love of my life who’s trying their damnedest to get rid of me. This book is trying to get rid of me, it just does not want me to read it. But I am trying. Read my first book review here.

On a lighter note, I’ve seen some really interesting new television series this week. Intelligence starring Josh Holloway and Meghan Ory was a decent watch, read my review here also. But the biggest surprise for me came from Helix, a new drama airing on Friday nights on Syfy. Can I tell you? That show . . . it has got me. From the creepy intro music, the concept, the acting, and the fact that it was nothing like what I expected, has blown me away. And I am surprised with the show’s direction and cinematography (watch me talk bout cinematography like I know stuff) but seriously . . . da show deh maaaad mi a tell you!!!

And then there was Grimm on Friday night, in which Juliet surprised the shit outta me. No man, you would have to see it to believe it. I had goosebumps, I was tense, and I almost cried. Big tings fi a movie or tv show fi do dat.

So, not much happened to me or for me this week but I am still forever grateful and hopeful for an even better week coming.

What are some of your plans for this week? I know I have a lot to do with regards to the wedding. More on that in a few, but I do hope you all have a wonderfully blessed week.

Nuff love mi dupes . . .

So tell me . . . what do you think?

