… and to ALL a Good Night

I just wanted to take some time now, while I actually have some time to myself, to wish you all have a Very MERRY Christmas and a Happy New Year, if we don’t get a chance to chat before then.

Christmas in Jamaica is probably one of the best times of the year. I’m not saying this because I am Jamaican (duh!), I say this because there is a tangible ‘togetherness’ that occurs almost like tradition, without much solicitation . . . it’s just what we do.

Let me explain . . .

Of course many of us have already bought our presents and such, but on Christmas Eve, tonight, most if not all of Jamaica will tek to di streets fi di laas minute shapp’n. I mean, bumper to bumper traffic, hordes and scores of people milling about, vendors on every inch of the sidewalk selling fire lights, to children’s toys, to refreshments and food, to clothes and shoes, anything and everything they can carry, smaddy ago have it a sell pan di road side. We call this Grand Market. Every town, city, and country side will have their own version of Grand Market.

Then tomorrow morning, is Church. We go to remember the true meaning of Christmas: the birth of Jesus, the coming together of family and friends, and to give of ourselves. Following the fellowship at Church we head back home. Some may go to a family members’ home or a friends’ house. 

But this Christmas is a very special Christmas for us.

It marks the beginning of a life we plan to make together. Since we’re getting married next year, we thought it would be great, ideal even, to start a Christmas tradition of our own. We usually go to my mom’s house for Christmas dinner but we want to do something special, something new, something we both have never done before.

What that is right now, I have no idea :/

But we have a tree . . .

2013-12-14 17.53.22
Our first Christmas Tree

And we plan to make our own Christmas dinner, and watch Doctor Who of course, maybe play a round of Monopoly, and watch movies all night.

What are your plans for the Christmas?!

🙂

5 comments

  1. aww man… you like Doctor Who… I was having to explain him to my family and I don’t think they quite got it… but you sound like you’re going to have a wonderful time… but I’m still going to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year… 😀

    Like

    • Thanks hun, glad to hear you’re a Whovian too 😀 not many people get it where I’m from… so sad… But thanks for the well wishes, have a great Christmas and a prosperous New Year 🙂

      Like

  2. Love the tree – so cute! How neat that you are starting your own traditions too! I am catching up on my blog reading while my family watches the saved and precious 50th anniversary Dr Who …….. I wonder how many people around the world will be doing this as their Christmas Days or Evenings wind down?? My eldest daughter got a Dr Who Screw-driver pen and is rapt!! They try to lure me in, but I stay staunchly the only non-whovian in the family!! No hope for me 🙂

    Have a wonderful Christmas Char and a blessed and wildly happy New Year!

    Like

    • I got him the eleventh doctor’s screwdriver, but shhh… I hope he doesnt read this before he sees it, but I cant wait to play with it too 😀
      Have a very Merry Christmas Pauline and a wonderful New Year (i like that “wildly happy”) filled with many blessings 🙂 nuff love!

      Like

  3. Merry Christmas to you, too! I spent years in Latin America ( Argentina, Brazil, Venezuela) and know the Austral Christmas climate.
    Have never visited Jamaica,but ….never say never!
    Thank you for telling us about your splendid country customs, wish I were there!

    Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

