Stick a fork in me, I’m done! well, kinda!

The week has just started, and already I’m done!

This is not my usual type of post, this is more like a rant, because of the shhhhhaving cream that’s been thrown at me these last couple days. I need a release and also, a gentle reminder that ‘this’ . . . whatever ‘this’ is, is not the end. Not even by a long shot.

Let me explain.

On Friday, I did a report (one I didn’t have to do), I could have let this report slip but me in my infinite wisdom, took it upon myself to get the information needed for said report.

After my email was sent, a reply was sent to all attached claiming that my report was not factual, inaccurate, and should be withdrawn.

I mean, don’t get me wrong, if I’m wrong and I need to go get my facts straightened out, fine! I have no problem admitting I’m wrong or that the information I got was incorrect.

But to say someone is not factual, is calling that someone a liar. And if I am a liar, why do you keep asking me for updates and such?!

A statement like that damages a persons’ integrity and character. And now that’s all I can think about . . . what do people think of me now?!

Thanks . . . to that lovely soul who questioned my integrity, your job is now complete! You get bonus points ๐Ÿ˜‰

So of course, today, this morning, I’m all on edge.

I’m a recluse, I can’t help it. I prefer the confines of my 20ft high by 4ft thick wall. But today, it feels like my wall aint high enough or thick enough, and every body and dem mumma knows it.

I’m not gonna lie, I’m feeling vulnerable, and not so confident with this job. All because of one person, and their lack of tact.

So while I was on Twitter, I was gently (really gently . . . with more tact than a thumbtack – makes no sense I know :/) that people will say and do whatever they feel like, how I respond to it makes all the difference.

โ€œTo be wronged or robbed is nothing unless you continue to remember it.โ€ ~ Confucius #quotes

Tina Suย โ€@thinksimplenow

How true is that?! As long as I keep hitting that replay button, things will always hurt me. So stop pressing that damn replay button Char! The replay button is ONLY for the fun stuff, like that trip to the beach last Sunday . . . yeah, that is replayable material ๐Ÿ™‚

I also have to remind myself, that we all have shitty days, don’t we?! More often than not! So just recognize that you’re having a shitty day/week/month, and let it go. Though I have to admit, letting go of negative feelings, and experiences is not that easy, but it’s worth it, right?!

And for the rest of you, because my month is not so great now, I wish, hope, and pray that you guys have a much better week than I’m havingย right now!

Be blessed loves!!!

7 comments

  1. One thing I remind myself of each day is to “never criticise the DOER”. That’s something I came up with because of the critique I’ve received in my own pursuits. The only opinion that matters is the one of yourself and as long as you work your hardest, what you do will eventually speak for itself.

    Like

    • That is so true! Because the Doer actually gets things done.

      I’ve always kinda followed that thought after reading ‘How to win friends and influence people’ – great book! “Don’t Criticize, Condemn, or Complain” something as simple as that. (Some people need to have a read).

      But yeah, such is life right?! There will always be those who seek to keep people down. I just have to BE positive, THINK positive!

      Like

  2. Not to take from your story but I’m sitting her racking my brain wondering if its who I think it is and remembered them doing something similar to me a week ago. I’ve learned in this job at this place that as long as you’ve tried and you know your right, then no one and nothing else matters. My 2nd manager here always said to me, Tracey if you’re right you can’t be wrong. I never forget that and that’s what I work with because I know, someone is going to be apologizing soon or seeing their mistake. I don’t take it personal, it no longer depresses me when the slings are thrown because I knew I did my best and I also remember that I am human so my best comes in percentages per day and I allow myself room to make mistakes as well as others. Its inevitable.

    I understand how you feel when it comes to your integrity. Just keep doing your best and don’t be afraid to question the instigator. You do that, you will learn the whys of their act or you will show them the ill of their act. Either way, someone learns something. Bet they’ll think twice about second guessing you after that.

    Nuh fret yuself babe. Love the quote.

    Like

    • Trust me, I would not be surprised if it were the same person. I’m just trying to not take it personally. Taking a deep breath and releasing it. Like you said, someone will learn something, and I guess I’ll learn what remaining silent will profit me.
      Thanks for your kind words ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Char…don’t worry about it. What i would suggest is that u just validate your work by proving that it is factual and just leave it there.

    Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

