Of stories and butterflies

Have you ever had some big event happening in your life, let’s say the event is tomorrow, and the night before you find your brain so preoccupied with analysing every single detail of the upcoming event that you can’t sleep?

And because you haven’t slept well the night before, you are now on pins and needles with knots and butterflies in your stomach and you’re even more anxious because of it?

For example, I have this major life-moment happening in April 2014 . . . that’s next year right?! . . . and I’m already loosing out on sleep because my brain is over-analysing the details of that event from tonight.

Yes, it is that bad with me!

Today, I had a similar life-changing opportunity. But miraculously, last night I slept like a babe who’s been at the beach all afternoon – well because, as a child, whenever we went to the beach I would be out like a light on the way home, at home, and until the following morning.

So what’s so different about this time?

Last night, before I turned in, I decided to read a couple of pages from this book – The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss.

I’m kind of in between books at the moment, so whenever I’m stuck waiting on something or someone, I pull out my tablet and read a couple of pages, even though I’ve read this book before. At this point I can safely say this is one of my favourite series.

But I digress.

So I read a couple of pages last night and was amazed at the fact that I fell asleep pretty quickly, I didn’t dream or lament over the impending event, and I woke up feeling refreshed and ready for today.

I still developed the ever-faithful butterfly stomach, shaky hands, and nervous stumbling speech, but I think being well rested the night before helps . . . at least it should help, and last night, reading a couple of pages before going to sleep helped me take my mind off the event to come.

And even though today’s opportunity was a no-show and I got the willies for no apparent reason, I can smile to myself at the fact that I actually did not lose sleep over it.

So . . . I say all this to say . . . if you’re like me, and you tend to lose sleep the night of a big event because your brain is over-active, read a story book *no joke* before you go to sleep.

Adults benefit from that little habit as well.

life_events

 

2 comments

  1. May I add something? [Going to anyway … :-)] If the reading doesn’t work try just deciding to turn the worry off [you are after all worrying about something that hasn’t happened and, as you just proved, may never happen] Lie comfortably, breathe deeply and follow the breath with your mind, in and out. Concentrate on your breathing and how it feels – in and out, in and out. If you find you have stopped being in the moment with what you are actually doing – i.e. started worrying again – just return to breathing…. you are breathing any way, you may as well focus on that and not something that may not happen. Sleep is guaranteed to follow. This is called ‘living in the present moment’ If you do it, let me know how it goes. xoxo Pauline 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Pauline 🙂 and well said. “What does worrying add to your life?” Right?! Though concentrating on my breathing doesn’t always work for me, especially before going to sleep. Maybe I could try yoga where I am forced to focus on my breathing.

      Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

