Friday’s Five Favourite . . . Animal Wonders

This Friday’s Five Favourite things was inspired by those animal wonders I’ve seen either on Animal Planet, Discovery Channel, National Geographic, and/or Planet Earth on BBC America.

To be honest, I usually only catch these kind of documentaries when there’s nothing else to watch on television, yeah . . . bad I know. But I am usually always amazed at what these animals do or can do. By the end of each program I am usually left flabbergasted to think on the things these animals are capable of.

Take for instance, giraffes.

Long necked, majestic and graceful, knock-kneed creatures you swore wouldn’t hurt a fly if landed on his nose. BUT . . . apparently, giraffes do fight, and can cause some serious damage to each other. This was a shock to me as I would picture a giraffe and could not see how they could fight. Check out the video below . . .

Then there are killer whales.

We all know Free Willy and personally I wondered where that comparison between the captive Free Willy and the out-a-road Killer Whales came from: two very different creatures (even though they are the same species).

I knew beforehand that killer whales often played with their food aka Mr. Seal, but what I saw in the documentary floored me. These whales teach their young to manipulate their surroundings in a coordinated manner in order to catch the seal by moving the ice into open waters and creating waves to wash the seal off the iceberg.

What was even more impressive was that after the mission was accomplished they released the seal and started all over again. I have NEVER seen any animal ‘practice’ something. Have you?!

Another set of coordinated animals were the African hunting dogs.

Their strategic execution of hunting was amaze-balls. To see them move – in my opinion – in military fashion was unbelievable, not to mention their teamwork.

Then the other day I caught the ending of a documentary on chimps.

You might say “Chimps?! What new thing can we possibly learn about our far-distant cousin?”

I’d say “You may be surprised . . . as was I.”

What shocked me was the fact that chimps hunt, kill, and eat other monkeys, in particular the red colobus monkey. I generally thought chimps were omnivores in that they ate plants, fruits, and insects; I did not know they ate meat, let alone other monkeys.

I guess that red colobus must taste like pork.

And to lighten the mood a bit, here’s a little on the drunk monkeys of St. Kitts.

And that concludes Friday’s Five Favourite Animal Wonders.

In de morrows peeps . . .

3 comments

  1. Well, that was interesting Char! I loved reading your commentary 🙂 I’d seen a couple of those videos before [on facebook or Youtube] That clip of the Orca’s making a wave to get the seal off the ice shows real intelligence don’t you think – reminds me of the fishermen who catch a fish and throw it back – fishing for the skill of the sport I guess. [But in their case practising for when they are really hungry] The drunk monkeys is new to me …and I found it a bit sad really. I’m not comfortable with reeling drunks….. 🙂 Nice to see you back and I hope you have a really good weekend!

    Like

    • Thanks Pauline 🙂 Yup that orca clip really shows their intelligence alright, that was remarkable. Makes me wonder what else they have up their sleeves. And I can understand your discomfort with the drunk monkeys.

      Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

