Friday’s Five Favourite . . . Albums

It’s been a while doah?!

I’m sorry for it, truly I am. I’ve been lacking a bit of inspiration for a while . . . but then it struck me!

As I was dancing away to Pumped up Kids by Foster the People shortly followed by Call it what you want, I realized I’m now an Album Girl, newly made. I’ve always been a Hit Girl and my playlists would range from Where Have you been by Rihanna, to Kemosabe by Everything Everything, and Mmmmmadness by Mmmmmuse, to Come and Get it by Selena Gomez. I wont hide and talk . . . di song maaad!

But now, I find myself wringsing albums all day. I literally troll YouTube to listen to the albums for all the songs on my playlist.

So far I’ve found at least five albums that are my go-to music these days.

UnorthodoxJukeboxUnorthodox Jukebox by Bruno Mars

In all honesty, his last album sucked to me. I remember trying it out sometime last year and I could not stomach the first two songs. I even tried it again the other day to see if there was something wrong with me, and it’s not.

But . . . I have to say, I love love love Unorthodox Jukebox. There is an old school 90’s feel to it that’s both refreshing and sexy, and you cant help but tap your foot, or hum along.

And on top of all this, I saw a performance of Locked out of Heaven on Graham Norton that gave me chills all the way here in Kingston Jamaica.

I’d LOVE to see Bruno Mars at Jazz Festival (hopefully 2014?!?!)

Just putting that out THERE . . . you hear The Universe?

My favourite song on the album?

Moonshine, take us to the stars tonight. Love that song!

Torches_foster_the_peopleTorches by Foster the People

I wrote all this (gesturing to the entire post) listening to Torches. I wrote all of this (gesturing to the post again) because of Torches.

Enough said!

Favourite song?

Hmmm, right now its Houdini, tomorrow it could be Helena Beat.

the 20-20 ExperienceThe 20/20 Experience by Justin Timberlake

At first I didn’t really like this album. It was a bit on the sappy side to me. But the more I listened to it, the more it grew on me. Now, it’s played at least once throughout my day. Not that I can’t live without it, but just that it has a vibe, a smooth, cool, and yes, sexy vibe to it.

After all, it IS Justin Timerlake’s album, with collaboration from Timbaland. What else could you expect but sexy!

Favourite song?

Haven’t found one yet. I do love Mirrors though. Smooth!

Night Visions by Imagine Dragons

Night_Visions_Album_CoverRadioactive was a favourite of mine for a while. It was on constant repeat until curiosity got the better of me and I found Night Vision.

Now, above I gave you a demonstration of the spectrum that is – my playlist. So it should be no surprise to you the difference with my favourite albums. I need a little . . . rock (grrr!) in my music, you know.

Enter: Imagine Dragons.

My favourite song?

I’m Bleeeeding Out, if the last thing I do is bring you down, I’ll bleed out for you.

Rise_To_The_OccasionRise to the Occasion by Sizzla Kalonji

Yeah, you dun know! As I said before, my range is . . . strange o.O Don’t question it.

Rise to the Occasion, look at yourself and say You’re strong! No one can stop you!

Say what you want, sometimes I find inspiration, strength and courage in his songs. I mean, in these days where every idea you have may be shot down by some nay-sayers (sometimes those closest to you), isn’t it refreshing to be reminded to “Get up and step towards your goal, its alright”?!

On top of it all, this album is a bit nostalgic to me. It reminds me of my college days, which to many was a waste, but to me the best time of my life.

The days when I was on a cheer-leading squad performing to some of his songs and other dancehall songs of that era. When every other Friday night was another party and bubbling a gwaan. When we were bleaching for exams and our thesis and had music playing to keep us awake in the wee hours of the morning. Yes, those were the days!

Favourite song?

Rise to the Occasion and ever so Nice and Lovely.

So there you have it, my Five Favourite Albums.

Who’s on your playlist right now?

2 comments

So tell me . . . what do you think?

