musical bones

In all honesty (since you asked), I wouldn’t necessarily consider myself a person with ‘musical bones’.

My range of music is one-dimensional, erratic at times, and often questionable. But I have been an alto on a youth choir for yeeeears. I’ve even had one, well – two solos; one I completely face-palmed, and the other I was . . . kinda aright. I taught myself to play the guitar 🙂 and on a regular basis too. Sometimes . . . I hear a choir in my head and I can do nothing but sit and listen.

But that’s as far as my musical bones will carry me.

There are however, others built with these musical bones and we see them everywhere. There was Michael Jackson, Bob Marley, Celine Dion, Marvin Gaye, I mean – I could spend all night listing them all but someone beat me to it.

I say this all to say, yesterday was International Reggae Day, a 24 hour celebration of Jamaica’s culture, music, and creativity and how it has impacted the rest of the world. They honoured reggae greats Peter Tosh, and Sly and Robbie.

Now, I’m not afraid to admit this. I had to go do my research.

Like I’ve said before, my music has always been one-dimensional. I listen to upbeat music to keep me awake at work . . . seriously. That is the criteria – ‘Keep me awake’. So when I hear about Peter Tosh, I draw blanks; I never really stopped to listen.

But this, Ladies and Gents, is Peter Tosh:

Peter Tosh – Stepping Razor

And this is Sly & Robbie:

Sly & Robbie – Brain Dub

Now, I’m feeling for an oldies party.

These men, among many others, form the bones on which our musical culture was created, and influence what it has evolved to now. Peter Tosh was one of the greats that helped pioneer reggae onto the world scene. And guys like Sly and Robbie show you seh there are different levels to our music. There is the one-drop riddim like above, and the futuristic style like this below. . .

Sly & Robbie – Superthruster

That’s some mad beats right?! I think I might be rocking to this one at work for a while.

What do you think?!

4 comments

  1. What a great way to start my morning! Peter Tosh was on my play list for a bit back in the 70’s I think – or maybe a bit later – the years are running into each other these days lol! [or dwl!] – Bob Marley was always one of my favourites. The other two I don’t know, but enjoyed both those tracks. We had a group called Herbs here who made great reggae rhythms and protest songs too [anti-nuclear before it was pc] and not one of them from the Caribbean! Great post, thank you!

    Like

    • I think that’s the great thing about reggae, it graces the different cultures of the world to the point where other countries create their own reggae bands, and style, and its still very much reggae. I would have loved to hear a sample track from Herbs. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      • If you go to You Tube and search for Herbs Long Ago [go for the extended version if you get a choice] you should get a good sampling for your eddikashun and enjoyment 🙂

        Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

