Friday’s Five Favourite . . . Quotes

This Friday’s Five Favourite things are quotes, sayings and ways of thinking that at some point helped me out of the rut I was in. I hope they inspire and remind you of your value and worth as much as they did me.

1. words2002

There was a time when I wondered if I had any control over anything in this life. But I heard this particular quote on my ‘How to win friends and influence people‘ audio book and it reminds me (because it’s a continuous reminder) that I am indeed the Master of MY own fate and the Captain of my Soul; I determine where I go and what I do – no one else!

2.

tumblr_meri52OWQ31rsz0klo1_500

This saying or way of thinking reminds me that I need to take the necessary steps to move forward in anything. And that #2: “If you don’t ask the answer will always be No” rang so many bells in my head because of the many things I’ve put down that I never really asked for help.

3.

dr-seuss-quote

There was another time in my life, when I said what I thought and felt at the time, and I lost a bag a friends . . . just like that! This quote reminds me that yes, sometimes we may say some not-so-nice things (and the not-so-nice things need to be said sometimes), but those who mind really shouldn’t matter, and those who matter, really don’t mind in the end. This was a hard pill for me to swallow, and even though I am careful in what I say out loud these days, I know who matter to me, and whose opinions don’t.

4. tumblr_lzitjsiPAW1qb0lexo1_500

Some other versions say “Be careful how you think, your life is shaped by your thoughts”. How true is that? What you think becomes reality especially if you obsess and meditate on it, whether good or bad. So . . . guard your heart and watch those thoughts! And, in conjunction with this scripture:

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

5. 16aaf1276f300aea2146112d4cc161ef

I came across this quote of Tina’s when I was struggling with people’s perception of me. Not that I intentionally set out to be a bitch about things, but sometimes it happens; at work, in school, in everyday life, even if all you do is ask for something specific, you can be perceived as a bitch. But you know what?! Bitches do get their stuff done! So kudos’ to Tina for this timely reminder.

Do you have any inspirational quotes? What about your favourite saying, if you have one?

Let the I know in the I’s comments below 😉

2 comments

  1. Great post Char – I love it! Here’s one of my favourite book quotes [comes with picture and kept on the wall above my desk, in case I forget the profundity of the message]: “What day is it?” asked Pooh. “It’s today” squeaked Piglet. “My favourite day!” said Pooh.
    My daily mantras consist of things like ‘This too shall pass’ [applies to good and bad days] and ‘It is what it is and everything is working out just fine’.
    And finally I love this quote from Rumi: ‘Be with those who support your being’.
    Wishing you all of the above! 🙂

    Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

