A Blessing or a Curse? I dunno . . .

Can I tell you? These Weekly Writing Challenges always seem to come around at the right time.

Today’s Challenge asked whether Smartphones were a Blessing or a Curse . . . and I had to laugh.

Nokia 3310 Remember these?
Nokia 3310
Remember these?

I remember the days, not too long ago, where the Nokia 3310 was the shit! It was my first year at College when I decided to get a cellphone and I, involuntarily, became apart of the ‘hype’. Back then, it was a thing to just have a cellphone, any cellphone would do, just as long as it was mobile. It didn’t matter how much it cost, well . . . back then, they weren’t half as expensive as they are now.

Back then, it was important to be reachable by any and everyone, and it was even better to be able to call any and everyone you needed, at any given moment.

I remember moving from the Nokia to the Motorola Razr, which I loved. It was so cool to flip it open, you felt special, you know! But then again, everyone had a Razr at that time, so you weren’t really all that special.

Blackberry Curve 8320 You should see mine. On second thoughts, no you should not :/
Blackberry Curve 8320
You should see mine. On second thoughts, no you should not :/

After the Razr came the Blackberry Curve, the 8320. And that’s when everything changed. Not only did you get a phone that, yeah . . . makes calls but, then you could message your friends without paying for it, and you had the internet with you wherever you went.

OMG, wasn’t the Curve the shit when it came out?! Maybe not in your neck of the woods, but in Ja, we took to Blackberry like bees and pollen.

EVERYBODY had a Curve, and soon everybody had their heads hung low, eyes glued to their phone screens, and bbing each other instead of engaging in real ‘verbal’ conversation. I wont lie, I was caught in that trap too so I know first hand. Soon, no-one’s phone rang any more  but you’d hear the chirps and pings, and the keys tapping away at full speed.

After the Curve came a myriad of other smartphones. Year after year smartphones hit the market at such an alarming speed that I could not keep track of, and I think that is where I drew my line in the sand. Blackberry released a phone every year, Apple issued theirs as well as Samsung and everybody else. Not to mention the house and land you’d have to sell just to get one.

For that reason at first, I remained with my Blackberry 8320. No joke . . . I still have my curve to this day and really have no plans to upgrade any time soon.

You see, I have a Galaxy Tab 2 on which I peruse the internet, I play my online games, chat with friends, check emails, tweet, all the ‘normal’ stuff, and it’s always with me. I really don’t need to do all that on my phone as well. So that is my second reason for not upgrading and falling into the trap again. No siree!

Right now, my Curve serves the initial purpose of the cellphone, to contact people and be contacted when needs be. I don’t even have internet on it, not even the bbm service.

If you really need to talk to me, call me so we can talk and laugh and hear each others voice and be real people.

So I say all of this to say . . . Is the Smartphone a Blessing or a Curse? I don’t know about y’all but mine is a Blessing, and amma keep it like that 😉

8 comments

  1. A long,long time ago, in a land far, far away I remember when the phone was attached to the wall and only the hand piece was movable by a couple of feet ….. before that I remember when there was just one phone in the whole street …… before that I think there were smoke signals……My vote is for ‘blessing’ but thank god there’s an off button! But mostly, like you, I prefer to talk and even more so face to face. Not even a smart phone can relay the expression in the eyes or the clues of body language. Great piece!

    Like

    • Lol I remember the walled phones too, when I was way younger, we had the extra long chord so we could go just about anywhere, in the house, to talk. Oh . . . how we ‘grow up’! Lol.

      Like

  2. its funny you wrote about this, me and a friend were having a similar discussion recently. Yup in that land (far far away) rotary phones were the “thing” too, it would takes 5 minutes just to dial, and god forbid you mess up loll, and cell phones were the size of the handbags women carry these days. Progress can be a scary thing

    Like

  3. i really don’t like the smart phones… but it’s mainly because i hate touch screens… they irritate me… and plus i don’t use the internet on my phone… my husband has one and it does come in handy… but it is like everyone is constantly just sitting around playing games on theres instead of you know actually talking to the people around them… but it is crazy how easily you get dependent on cell phones… i remember back when they weren’t around and if you split up in a store you just kept circling until you finally found each other… now i feel panic when i realize i don’t have a phone… like what if i get lost or someone tries to get in touch with me… it’s like that thing has to be by my side at all times… they may be cordless but there are definite string attached… 😀

    Like

    • DWL @ “i remember back when they weren’t around and if you split up in a store you just kept circling until you finally found each other” I remember those days too. They still exist to some extent. And isnt it funny how panicky we get when we leave our phone at home? And when you get home and check the phone – not one missed call, because nobody calls anymore! Ah boy!

      Like

      • yeah… it makes me sad… i was all worried and no one had the decency to call me… i will admit i do love to text… which is why i prefer buttons… it’s funny… even my grandparents have learned to text… soon it’s going to be impossible to go without such… i’m almost about to have to get internet on mine because my college updates junk and i don’t know about it till i’m home and it’s too late… so sad…

        Like

So tell me . . . what do you think?

