Day 26. Who are we?

Shameful confession: I haven’t written a story in a week. *gasp*

There are a couple of reasons for this, which are really excuses but I feel bad about it nonetheless.

My first excu- I mean reason – my first reason is: I kinda have a problem coming up with stories out of the blue. And I know I said I would work on it, but it just doesn’t work like that for me, not yet at least.

The challenge for Day 26 was to think of a story and record it using any kind of recorder, then transcribe it.

Trust me, I’ve tried.

I stood in a parking lot with my phone/recorder and I recorded all the ramblings in my head like you would when you start writing. But nothing came, no idea, no story . . . nothing. I did think of a couple of blog posts though but no story.

My second reason is, and I think its more psychological than anything else, I’m almost at the end of my Writing Challenge.

Do you ever realize there is an urge to procrastinate on something when you’re so close to finishing?

I dunno if it’s the finality of the challenge that I’m stalling, or if I’m afraid of what lies ahead, but I got royally pissed with myself last night when I realized I had only 4 days left.

For a week now, I’ve been putting off 4 days of writing!

Don’t worry, I did my fair share of cussing and chastising and finger-wagging. “Shame on you Char!” *shakes head*

So now, I’m going to muster all the creative juices in my head and finish the last 4 stories and complete this Writing Challenge . . . once and for all.

4 stories you know, I’ve been stalling on 4 stories! Still can’t believe it.

grassland

Day 26: Today, try telling your story out loud. Speak into a recording device (my phone). Then play back what you said and write it down. You can revise and edit later if you want. Do the words flow easily when you are talking instead of writing?

For a long time now I’ve been watching my foot steps as I shuffle along this lonely road. I can’t tell you how long I’ve been walking, only that it seems like . . . forever.

I remember stepping out of the old me and setting out along this road that has led me nowhere so far.

I look to the horizon and despair for there is no end to this journey. Swaying knee-high golden brown grass on the left, salty waves crashing on the right. And I do nothing but inch along this narrow road determined to get nowhere fast.

I come upon another, shuffling down this road and I know without a doubt that he is like me. Nowhere to go but forward, nothing to do but walk.

And so we walk, side by side, swaying in rhythm with the wind and the grass, listening to the crashing of the ocean, taking step after step forward, we were on a mission, I knew, without having said a word.

This new friend and me, on our journey to nowhere.

2 comments

So tell me . . . what do you think?

